Dr. Doris R. Corbett-Johnson Leaders for Our Future Award

The Doris R. Corbett-Johnson Leaders for Our Future Award recognizes younger members who have demonstrated outstanding potential in scholarship, teaching, and/or professional leadership. This award is chosen in two membership categories, "college and university" and "non college and university."


E.B. Henderson Award

E.B. Henderson was a noted author, teacher, coach, and administrator in the disciplines of physical education and athletics. The E.B. Henderson Award recognizes minority SHAPE America members who, through numerous years of proven dedication to scholarship, mentorship, and service to ethnic minorities, have increased involvement of ethnic minorities and/or underserved populations within their profession, SHAPE America, or society.


Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame Award honors outstanding individuals who make significant contributions to maintaining physical and health education, physical activity, dance and sport as important parts of the total educational program.


Joy of Effort Award

The Joy of Effort Award honors individuals who, by performance and style, have personified the concept that the effort made to enrich the goals and objectives of health and physical education, physical activity, dance, and sport is a labor of love, inspired by commitment and dedication.


LeRoy T. Walker Young Professional Award

The LeRoy T. Walker Young Professional Award is given to a minority member of SHAPE America who is 36 years old or younger who has demonstrated superior promise in the areas of service, teaching, scholarship and commitment to the goals of SHAPE America focusing specifically on under-represented and/or underserved populations and promotion of diversity and inclusiveness. Not more than one LeRoy Walker Young Professional award shall be given annually.


Luther Halsey Gulick Award

The Luther Halsey Gulick Medal is awarded as the highest honor SHAPE America bestows in recognition of long and distinguished service to one or more of the professions represented in the Association.


NAGWS Legacy Award

National Girls and Women in Sports (NAGWS) was founded in 1899 with the mission of increasing opportunities for girls and women in sport.


North American Society of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport and Dance Professionals Award

Established in 1999, the North American Society (NAS) recognizes outstanding professionals from within the allied professions of health education, physical education, recreation, sport and dance in North America.